In an hour or so June is over and if you’re following my pattern publishing you might think by now that I have taken an early summer vacation from knitting and designing. Believe me when I’m saying that you couldn’t be farther from the truth. I have done very little but planned, swatched, designed and knitted this month. The only thing I haven’t been able to fit in is doing the final pattern editing for publication. But that will change very soon and here’s a heads up on what to expect in the near future.

I am currently taking part in a design competition on Ravelry, called Project Yarnway. It is based on the Project Runway format and has monthly challenges on different themes. The theme for May was Learning Curve and for that we needed to learn a technique that we hadn’t mastered before and design an object that would be appropriate for someone new to the technique. With a lifetime of knitting and crocheting behind me I had a hard time finding anything that I hadn’t done many times before but eventually settled for double knitting which I had never tried. I designed a jewel bag to use while travelling and used the particular properties of the technique to create a padded bag with two pockets. To my great happiness I won the professional category with it! So now I have decided to publish the pattern together with other knitted travel cases in the same technique.

This month challenge was Escape to Nowhere. For that we had to create a design for a fabulous getaway. I made a versatile shawl, thin enough to double as a scarf, and with the extra option of buttoning up the edges to create a long sleeved shrug. At least one shawl is always in my bag (and another one is probably on me) when I travel so this was the perfect object for me.

A line of yarn overs at each edge creates the buttonholes. This, together with the loose pairs of buttons makes for a very flexible choice in the buttoning up of the shawl. It is knitted in a colour variegated yarn that brings out the waves in the pattern.

I had all ready planned to publish the pattern so when a girl in my knitting group asked for it I decided to move it up in the queue. Since it is a shrug as well as a shawl it will be written in three sizes and as soon as I have worked out the numbers it will be published.

June is also a popular month for weddings and this year my family joined in the tradition. My stepsister got married and I took that as a great excuse to design and knit a wedding shawl appropriate both for the bride, who might need a bit more cover up in the church, as well as for bridesmaids and guests.

I made it in a soft white colour laced through with a golden thread which added a bit of sparkle. The white kid mohair yarn makes it perfect for a bride but I can also easily imagine it in a colour matching the colour of the dress one is wearing since the colour choices in kidsilk yarns is almost endless.

More pictures as well as the pattern itself will be here soon!

Last but not least I have also, after a request, started working through a design I made last winter. At the time I was obsessed with slippers since every where I went the floors seemed too cold to wear nothing but socks. I wasn’t the only one in the family that was suffering and to be able to help the male parts of the family I designed a Sneaker Slipper that took its look from the famous design with the side stripes.

A friend spotted them on Ravelry and asked me to publish the pattern. It takes some counting, since I want them to have individual sizes rather than just stretch like a sock, but I will eventually get around to that as well.

I have since the long winter months discovered that slippers are a great summer wear when the windows are open and there’s a breeze on the floor boards that chills your feet even in warmer weather. And before we know it autumn knitting will be here so what better to do than to gear up with a couple of balls of yarn and a slipper pattern so that your feet will be warm in the colder months to come?

Apart from all this I have also sent in submissions to pattern publishing – of which I can’t tell you anything until it’s published but count on some nice winter patterns to come! – and there’s another deadline for that coming up in the midst of July so bear with me if I’m a bit slow in producing the actual patterns right now. I promise to make it up to you with plenty of knitting to do once the fall season is in sight.

Until then, happy summer knitting!